New Subscribers and Marathon Music Listening! Part 2 of 2!

I want to thank the new subscribers that have recently come aboard, as well as thank my long time subscribers.

There are endless demands on your time, so for you to take a little time to visit and subscribe, and comment, and just enjoy… is not taken for granted and is DEEPLY appreciated.

Okay, onto today’s madness….

 

As promised in part one of this installment,here is a link to the list of 200 or so Jazz Fusion albums I went thru, and also (out of that 200) the much smaller list of the dozen or so gems I found.

 

Out of that massive list here are the ones to own! Now if I were to do this massive listening marathon again, this list might change based on my particular moods or the specific segments of audio I land on, I might find more to add. But the ones I’ve chosen so far, appear to be solid choices for me.

And may just be solid choices for you.

Now in the links provided you may find some lps along with cds. I generally speaking dislike records as a playback medium. I grew up with records and vhs tapes, I know the trials of something that gets worse every time you play it.

It was the best we had at the time, but god almighty I do not miss scratched records, or lint on the records or stylus, or records warping with the weather, or vhs tapes becoming snow filled due to damage from playing them too much, or fast forwarding and rewinding them too much.

Contact based playback devices are generally lessons in short lived enjoyment. Whereas optical playback devices, cds, dvds, laser discs, the sound or picture you get the 1st time, or the 100th time, is the same sound. With records, the 2nd time you listen to it it is already a little less than the first time. and by the 20th time, the pops and hisses are competing with the actual intended sounds/music for your attention.

For these reasons I strongly dislike records and vhs tapes as a playback medium. When that was all we had.. fine. But now that we have optical drives, I’m not going backward to degenerative formats.

The only reason I will get a record is 1/ if the CD version is not available or 2/ if I just want it for the art and liner notes and presentation aspect, and to compliment an existing CD I have. So if you see an LP option below, along with Cd options, that’s the reason. It is on this list as an art object, which if the price is right an LP can make a nice compliment to the CD. And generally speaking you can usually flip LPs later on for at least your purchase price, to those who are record lovers.

I have friends who love records, so take my LP bashing with the facetious nature it is intended.

I’m happy when my friends are happy, but for me… records for listening enjoyment?…. No.

 

Okay onto the small list of essential winners, that made it to the top of my marathon 200+ Jazz Fusion album listening binge:

 

Version 1.0.0

 

 

The CD contains 2 additional live tracks, that the consensus is those two are out of place and you can just skip, and stick with the original songs. However, the CD does reproduce the album art, that was cut off in earlier CD releases… and that is obviously a win.

This is an example of a great album that was never issued on CD, so you have to pick up the album. It is funk-tastic!

 

Version 1.0.0

 

 

 

Version 1.0.0

 

Don’t Let the slightly salacious cover fool you, this is an excellent jazz fusion album,

That’s it guys, my  highlights from over 200 albums listened to. Buy your copies while still available.  And if you enjoy this post like, subscribe, comment and recommend it to others. Thanks!

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.