CD Music Reviews

Tales from Topographic Oceans – a decent stereo soundstage, I just don’t care for the music
Turtle Creek Chorale: Psalms – I don’t find the soundstage particularly wide, for much of it it is very mono
The Raven by Rebecca Pidgeon – I don’t think the recording is especially impressive, but I like her voice and I like her folksy songs. Very… listenable.
Raven in the Grave by Raveonettes – not my cup of tea. Syrupy distorted singing.
Ant Man Soundtrack and Mission Impossible Rogue Nation soundtrack are both great.

Orff: Carmina Burana Holst The Planets – Nice stereo imaging. Brilliantly revealing songs, that are the stuff of blockbusters. I also listened to Orff:Carmina by the London Symphony and Orff: Carmina and all instrumental version by Peabody Conservatory, and while both are nice I prefer the sound on this Sir Charles Mackerras version

I will put up links and images tonight.

Leave a Reply

