BOOK OF THE DAY: John Varley’s THE PERSISTENCE OF VISION

pervision

BOOK OF THE DAY: John Varley’s THE PERSISTENCE OF VISION

I’ve been off the science fiction kick for a while, with much of what passes for sci-fi today just not interesting me. But thankfully there’s a lot of brilliant scifi from yesteryear waiting to be discovered.

Enter John Varley’s 1978 short story collection… THE PERSISTENCE OF VISION. I’m still in process, but so far the first story alone, THE PHANTOM OF KANSAS is worth the price of the book all by itself.

The story is just so imaginative, particularly if you consider when it was done, and yet you sense far closer to where we may be going as a society than is comfortable. He jams so many mind-blowing concepts into a story, with throwaway ease.

So hunt up the collection and give it a read. I think it will make a fan of those people who do not care for sci-fi.

1 Comment

  1. What you said about no longer being interested in science fiction made me smile. As a teenager and young adult, Science Fiction was the ONLY thing that I did read. But I’ve been sitting here trying to think if I’ve read any recent SF….say in the last 10-15 years and I haven’t. I have been re-reading a LOT of the SF I read back then, tho. Tried to read some Barry Malzberg a couple of weeks ago and couldn’t figure out for the life of me why I thought he was so profound back then.

Leave a Reply

