WHAT I’M READING: SONG OF THE SILENT SNOW

“Many, many years ago a man told me that to deny my dream was to sell my soul. I was young and did not know that the words were finding their own particular place within me so they would be mine forever, but I do remember blinking my eyes and nodding my head as if the very motion was forcing the truth in what he said deeper within me.”

—OF WHALES AND DREAMS by Hubert Selby

SONG OF THE SILENT SNOW is a 1986 short story collection by Hubert Selby, the author of LAST EXIT TO BROOKLYN, a few stories in and I find the collection both bittersweet and endearing, with a lovely use of language and longing. Recommended.

Song of the Silent Snow (Penguin Modern Classics)

Leave a Reply

